Skip to content ↓

Early Years Foundation Stage

Areas of Learning

The curriculum is carefully planned to ensure progression and continuity of skills in seven areas of learning. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities all children need to develop and learn effectively in order to be ready for school. There are three prime areas:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

There are also four specific areas through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

Curriculum Information

Reception Curriculum Map 2022-23